Accessibility Legislation - Canada

Canadian Human Rights Act and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms ensure equality of opportunity and freedom from discrimination in federal jurisdiction.

AODA - Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act

On June 13, 2005, the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA), received Royal Assent and is now law. The purpose of the AODA 2005 is to benefit all Ontarians by developing, implementing, and enforcing accessibility standards in order to achieve accessibility for Ontarians with disabilities. 

Customer Service Standard

The Customer Service Standard under AODA applies to all organizations, both public and private, that provide goods or services either directly to the public or to other organizations in Ontario, (third parties), and that have one or more employees in Ontario. All providers that are covered by the customer service standard must comply with certain requirements to improve accessibility with regards to customer service.

Integrated Standard

On June 3, 2011, the Ontario government released the final AODA Integrated Accessibility Standards regulation under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (the "AODA" or the "Act"). The Final Regulation combines accessibility standards in three areas – information and communication, employment, and transportation.

Please visit our AODA Information and Communication Compliance Deadlines for more information on the AODA Information and Communication Standard.

Quebec -Loi assurant l’exercice des droits des personnes handicapées en vue de leur intégration scolaire, professionnelle et sociale

The Act to secure the rights of people with disabilities was adopted in 1978. Following its in-depth review by the National Assembly in 2004, it is now entitled An Act to secure the rights of persons with disabilities to achieving social, professional and social.

AMA - Accessibility for Manitobans Act

On December 5, 2013, the Accessibility for Manitobans Act (AMA) became law, allowing for the Manitoba government to address and develop mandatory accessibility standards. AMA focuses on 5 key areas to ensure accessibility is applied to both private and public sector organizations: Accessible Customer Service, Accessible Information and Communications, Accessible Built Environment, Employment Accessibility, and Accessible Transportation.

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia’s Accessibility Act received Royal Assent on April 27, 2017. Nova Scotia becomes the fourth Canadian province to enact accessibility legislation. The Nova Scotia Accessibility legislation aims to achieve accessibility in the whole province by 2030.

CRTC 2009-430

Broadcasting and Telecommunications Regulatory Policy, (CRTC 2009-430), has provisions and impending deadlines that affect our telecommunications customers.  By July 21, 2010, telecommunications service providers must promote information on all of their disability-specific services and products, in the accessible manner(s) of their choice; incorporate an easy-to-find home page link to the special needs/disability sections of their websites, and make their general call centres accessible by training CSRs in handling enquiries and familiarizing themselves with the service providers' products and services for persons with disabilities.

CRTC - The Wireless Code

The CTRC Wireless Code establishes new standards that all wireless service providers must follow. Under section B, Contracts and related documents -  1. Postpaid service contracts: A service provider must give the customer a permanent copy of the contract and related documents at no charge. Part iii  of that section, “A service provider must provide a customer with a copy of the contract in an alternative format for people with disabilities upon request, at no charge, at any time during the commitment period.” It will apply to new contracts starting on December 2, 2013. Please visit the CRTC website for more information.

New Standard on Web Accessibility 2.0 

The Government of Canada's New Standard on Web Accessibility and new Standard on Web Usability is now in effect to reflect modern practices on the web and changes in technology.


The World Wide Web Consortium, (W3C), is the industry recognized body for setting standards for making websites usable by people of all abilities and disabilities to ensure that all users can have equal access to information and functionality through the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI).  An accessible website is achieved when web pages and processes are validated for compliance against the W3C's Standards, (WCAG 2.0 level AA).

Legislation in Progress

Canadians with Disabilities Act

The overall goal of the legislation is to increase the inclusion and participation of Canadians in society and promote equality of opportunity by improving accessibility and removing barriers in areas of federal jurisdiction.

British Columbia- Accessibility 2024

The government of British Columbia is another province proactively working to increase accessibility for persons with disabilities. In June 2014, the Premier released the roadmap to Accessibility 2024 with a 10-year action plan, which has assisted in B.C. making huge strides to reduce barriers for citizens of British Columbia.